top of page

​

​

8E70BA37-FDC5-4184-9E76-D5E19B34C18F.jpeg
Post: Quote
  • Writer's pictureJulia Caesar

A Dream in the Shadow of Bernini

Updated: Apr 4


Corpus, Gian Lorenzo Bernini. 1645-1655



Awaken to revelation-- a dream of repentance.


It was advent as I approached the Stations of the Cross. They were no ordinary Stations of the Cross, but carved by Bernini and as I got closer I began to lose my sight. I managed to see Bernini's name engraved into the living marble and instantly fell to my knees.


The rest of the dream lead me without sight and I used my fingers to find the carved figures- how thankful was I not to see but feel beauty! Bernini's name trigured a Holy memory, the kind that travels many generations back to find virtue, a recollection of higher good and tears ran down like rivulets onto the floor then enlarged into a reflecting pool. There I found that the perfect forms were as real as the crucified body before me. It revealed to me that both reason and revelation were necessary to escape the shadows and enter into the light of knowledge as swiftly as an oracle on the winged sandles of Mercury. "For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known." Corinthians 13:12.


I stayed there drenched until waking to the sculpted sheets that draped my sleep--there in the place where I kissed his feet.  Beauty will indeed save the world, how long will it take to find it on an old wooden Cross?


 Corpus, Gian Lorenzo Bernini. 1645-1655

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page